Skip to main content

Library Home

Welcome to J. A Jones Library

Search For Everything

This search will look at all the books, ebooks, and media in the Jones Library.  For help with your search, please contact us or drop in!

Advanced Search Here

Search Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers from NC Live
Recommended for general searches. This will search most of our databases by keywords.

Frequently Used Titles:

If the library doesn't have an book or article you need:

Journal Article Request

Book Request

For Interlibrary Loan information and assistance contact Nancy Williard.

When searching for databases, look for the Best Bet tag or the Popular tag. Try reading descriptions as well.

Find what you want in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Keep in mind, not everything you find will be freely available in full text and you will still need to evaluate these sources for quality as you would any other internet resource!

Watch for new Guides here! SEE ALL GUIDES!

Loading ...

Welcome!

J.A.Jones Library BuildingWelcome to J.A. Jones Library!

In 2017, the Library building celebrates its 50th birthday. Part of the celebration is a new look and new services! 

  • New furnishings and technology to support study and experiential projects
  • Friendly librarians and staff to help students succeed
  • Modern collections including over 300,000+ebooks (and 50,000 print books)
  • 25,000+ streaming video and audio resources
  • 36,000+ journal titles
  • Equipment check-out for work and fun: GoPro cameras, laptops and tablets, Eno hammocks, and more.

Library FAQs

               

      

Bring your ID to the desk with what you want to check out. For equipment see the equipment policies. You can always ask!  And you can renew online at the website under View Your Record!

Brevard College faculty & staff

  • Most things are checked out for six weeks (4 weeks to a registered faculty spouse).
  • DVDs check out for seven days.
  • A-V equipment (faculty & staff only) is checked out for the length of time required (usually 24 hours).
  • Reference materials, closed stacks, special collections, periodicals etc. may check out with the permission of the Library Director (for usually 24 hours or less).

Brevard College students

  • Books and recordings check out for 28 days. CDs - limit 10
  • Videos and CD-ROMs check out for 28 days. DVDs check out for seven days.
  • Reference materials, closed stacks, special collections, periodicals etc. may check out with the permission of the Library Director (usually for one class or 24 hours maximum).

Can anyone use the computers in the library?

BC students always have priority in using the library's computers. Guests are welcome to use the computers during non-peak times. Please see a library staff member for guest log-in credentials.

Can I print something from the computer?

Students, faculty and staff members may print and charges will be deducted from your PaperCut account. Ten cents for black and white and 25 cents a page for color.

Community guests may print and pay at the desk - ten cents a page for black and white and 25 cents a page for color.

Is the copier/scanner available for student use?

Yes! Ask at the main desk to have someone get you started. You can scan and send files to your email for free. Copies are $.10 per page (not on PaperCut, sorry).

Can I send a fax at the library?

Sorry, but no. However, you can use the copier/scanner to turn your document into a PDF that you can email. Students can send/receive faxes in the Kings Creek Book Store behind the library. Contact the bookstore for prices or for more information 828-884-8181.

Fax service is not available to non-students or staff. A fax may also be sent through Brevard Business System, The UPS Store or other commercial locations.

Walking manWalk Right In! OR  See CONTACT US or hit the Chat with a Librarian for immediate help! 

Look for the Research Advisory symbol! Research Advisory Button Research Advisory appointments give you the undivided attention of a librarian. We can help you to map out a plan for your research, come up with keywords for searching, find the best sources, and evaluate the sources so you get the best.

Click to reserve materials for a course.

Materials requested for reserve by faculty members for specific classes are kept on Course Reserve. Items on Course Reserve may include books, videos, or anatomy models! These materials are to be shared by the classes and are kept at the main desk. They are often only allowed to be used in the library and for a short period of time, like an hour or two.  Make your plans accordingly! 

Off campus,  you may need a password to access the book or media from our library databases. If prompted to select your library, choose Brevard College.  Next, you will reach this screen:

Then enter:

Username: Last name, First name (example: Smith, John.) 

Password: bv and your 6-digit Brevard College ID number (example: bv123456)

If you have trouble, chat with us, email at library@brevard.edu, or call 828.884.8268.

On campus, you use two passwords. 

One is for your official Brevard College email account and the other is your Network Password. Your Network Password will provide you with access to all campus computers, MyBrevard, and Sakai. 

Your email address is typically your last name followed by your first and middle initials followed by @brevard.edu. For example, if your name is John Robert Doe, your email address will be "doejr@brevard.edu".

Your network username is typically your last name followed by your first and middle initials. For example, if your name is John Robert Doe, your email address will be "doejr".

If you are having trouble, check with IT (Information Technology) downstairs.

Equipment is available for faculty, staff, and student checkout. We have ENO hammocks, laptops, headphones, GoPro cameras, video cameras, iPads, and lots of other stuff. To make sure you get what you really need for your project, please consult with us. Requests are made by completing this Reserve Equipment Request or

email to Chilly Heinz on a first come first served basis.

Have a general question? 
Ask us via library@brevard.edu, or phone us at 828-884-8268

Contact Us Directly!
Marie Jones, Library Director, 828-884-8248
Melodie Farnham, Catalog and Acquisitions Librarian, 828-884-8368
Chilly Heinz, Information Services Librarian, 828-884-8135
Nancy Williard, Information Services Librarian, 828-884-8298
George E. Stahlberg, Library Technical Assistant, 828-884-8268
Bonnie Jensen, Circulation Clerk, 828-884-8268
Hope Alwine, Night Manager, 828-884-8268

 Also see the Chat with a Librarian Button below.

Loading

December New Books

A Living Lens

Photographs of Jewish life from the pages of the Forward, a magazine for Jewish Americans.

America's Library

The story of the Library of Congress, 1800-2000.

The Civil War - A Narrative

Three volume history of the Civil War, written in a narrative format.

A New Birth of Freedom

"Harry V. Jaffa illuminates Lincoln's understanding of the concepts of self-government, equality, and statesmanship, and he offers penetrating insights into Lincoln's refutation of the political philosophy and constitutional interpretations of John C. Calhoun and the southern secessionists." --book jacket

Asteroids

Provides a comprehensive introduction to asteroid science.

Bleriot

Biography of French aviation pioneer, who made the first flight across the English Channel in a heavier-than-air craft in 1909.

The Encyclopedia of New York City

Covers subjects throughout the five boroughs from prehistory to the present. Also available as an ebook.

Family Violence from a Global Perspective

Authors from 17 different cultures each tell the story of domestic violence in their respective part of the world.

Fireflies, Glow-Worms, and Lightning Bugs

Identification and natural history of the fireflies of the eastern and central United States and Canada.

First into Nagasaki

Never-before-published eyewitness accounts of post-atomic Japan, including POW camps near Nagasaki.

Focus

In an era of unstoppable distractions, the author persuasively argues that now more than ever we must learn to sharpen focus if we are to contend with, let alone thrive in, a complex world.

Franklin D. Roosevelt

Biography emphasizing Roosevelt's political and wartime achievements,

Glaze

Provides recipes, techniques, and illustrations of unique ceramic glazes.

The Goshawk

T.H. White recalls his relationship with a young goshawk & how in training the bird they together entered a state of delirium & intoxication, a mixture of attraction & repulsion that he conceives as not unlike love.

Grant

In this biography, Smith makes the case that Grant is greatly underrated as a president.

Holding Stone Hands

"Boye provides a vivid, moving account of the Cheyennes' struggle to return to Montana. At the same time, he details the trek he and his Cheyenne companions made through four states and his growing understanding of why the Cheyennes' longing for their homeland was stronger than their desire to live." -Jacket

I Dissent

Biographical children's book about Ruth Bader Ginsburg's dissenting opinions.

In Search of Excellence

"Based on a study of forty-three of America's best-run companies from a diverse array of business sectors, In Search of Excellence describes eight basic principles of management that made these organizations successful." -cover

Iron Muse

Examines the production, distribution, and publication of images of the transcontinental railroad.

Island of the Blue Dolphins

In addition to the text of the 1961 winner of the Newbery Medal, this books includes two excised chapters, a critical introduction and essays that offer new background on the novel.

Jacksonland

" President Andrew Jackson, Cherokee Chief John Ross, and a great American land grab"

LGBT Youth Issues Today

LGBT Youth Issues Today: A Reference Handbook presents historical background on the topic, provides an up-to-date examination of the issues of concern to LGBT youth, and offers in-depth information and resources for further research.

Life Behind Barbed Wire

The secret World War II photographs of prisoner of war Angelo M. Spinelli. Also available as an ebook.

Man Flies

The story of Alberto Santos-Dumont, Brazilian aviation pioneer.

Manhattan Unfurled

Pen-and-ink drawing of Manhattan's skyline.

The Encyclopedia of New York City

Covers subjects throughout the five boroughs from prehistory to the present. Also available as an ebook.

The Oceans

The 4.4-billion-year history of the oceans and their role in Earth's climate system.

The Secret Life of Flies

Entomologist Erica McAlister describes the different types of fly, their unique and often unusual characteristics, and the unpredictable nature of their daily life.

On Location 2

"Famous landscapes in film"

Palimpsest

Memoir by author Gore Vidal on his first 40 years of life.

Persian Ceramics

48 works from the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco are discussed in detail and placed in their cultural and historical contexts.

Sherman

Examines the life and career of the civil war general from his formative years at West Point to his controversial campaigns during the Civil War, to his role as a postwar commander.

Saga

Science fiction graphic novel.

Shadows of War

A German soldier's photographs of World War II.

The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian

Collection of 13 early Conan stories, in the order they were originally written.

Reservation Capitalism

Relates the true history, describes present-day circumstances, and sketches the potential future of Indian communities and economics.

Spirit Capture

Spirit Capture brings together more than 200 photographic images from the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian with essays from Native and non-Native historians, anthropologists, and curators.

The Cambridge History of Latin American Women's Literature

Explores women's literature from ancient indigenous cultures to the beginning of the twenty-first century.

Stage Makeup

This up-to-date, full-color makeup manual is designed as a guide for student, amateur, or professional performers.

Street Art World

Young juxtaposes the rise and fall of art markets against the vibrancy of street and urban life, providing a rich history and new ways of contextualizing graffiti and street art.

Superman

The author, a prize-winning journalist here delivers a full-fledged history not just of the Man of Steel but of the creators, designers, owners, and performers who made Superman the icon he is today.

The Last Muster

This collection of images assigns faces to an un-illustrated war and tells the stories of our nation's Founding Fathers and Mothers.

The Liberation of Europe 1944-1945

Over 400 images from London Times of the North West Europe campaign in World War II.

The New York Times Complete World War II

Coverage from the New York Times from 1939-1845, covering topics from battlefields to the home front.

The Spartan Army

History of the Army of Sparta.

The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm

Zipes' translation of the original 1812 edition of Kinder und Hausmarchen (Children's and Household Tales)

The Presidency of Abraham Lincoln

Paludan offers us Lincoln in whole--a complex, even contradictory personality who found greatness without seeking it and who felt deeply troubled about what he perceived as the nation's intertwined triumph and tragedy. Filled with fresh insights and new interpretations, this book presents a genuinely new and compelling portrait of a president and nation at war.--dust jacket.

The Taste of War

Tracing the interaction between food and strategy, on both the military and home fronts, Collingham demonstrates how access to food was a driving force within Nazi policy and contributed to the decision to murder hundreds of thousands of "useless eaters," and brings to light the fact that famine was not only caused by Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan, but was also the result of Allied mismanagement and neglect, particularly in India, Africa and China.

The Underground Railroad: A Novel;

Novel of two slaves' story of risk and escape.

The Years of Lyndon Johnson

Three-volume biography of Lyndon Johnson.

To Conquer the Air

The Wright Brothers and the great race for flight.

The Wright Brothers Legacy

A photographic tribute to the Wright brothers' first flight at Kitty Hawk features images of the brothers and their aircraft as well as such memorabilia and souvenirs as vintage postcards, posters, stereopticon images, and toys.

Unlocking the Sky

Glenn Hammond Curtiss and the race to invent the airplane.

War Years with Jeb Stuart

Blackford was one of General Stuart's Staff in the Confederate Army. He provides first-hand descriptions of the Battle of First Manassas and other battles and campaigns of the U.S. Civil War.

Warriors in Uniform

Stories of Native Americans fighting for the United States in wars from the American Revolution through the Iraq War.

Wilbur Wright's Flights in France

Léon Bollée's photographic record of Wright's flights in France, 1908-1909

Willie and Joe

Chronicles the disillusionments that World War II soldiers faced, in a book that features the dozens of cartoons that were censored by the author's syndicate for their attacks on racial segregation and McCarthy-style "witch hunts."

Wings of Madness

Biography of the young Brazilian who moved to Paris where he experimented with flight until Europeans came to call him the man who conquered air.

Worrying the Line

For blues musicians, "worrying the line" is the technique of breaking up a phrase by changing pitch, adding a shout, or repeating words in order to emphasize, clarify, or subvert a moment in a song. Cheryl A. Wall applies this term to fiction and nonfiction writing by African American women in the twentieth century, demonstrating how these writers bring about similar changes in African American and American literary traditions.

Yankee Doodle Gals

Children's nonfiction about Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPS) in World War II.