Skip to main content

Experiential Learning Commons Blog

We hear you! (Part 2: Collections)

by Marie Jones on 2019-12-03T10:57:00-05:00 | Comments

Last spring, we distributed a survey to the BC community, soliciting your feedback on the Library and ELC. We've had a chance to analyze the feedback, and we want to respond to a few of the issues that came up. You can see all of the questions and summaries of the answers in this Survey Summary Document.  

A few of the survey respondents expressed concern about library collections. We think we might not be as pro-active as we should be at telling everyone about the collections that we do provide, and how those collections are selected. 

  • If a faculty member recommends a book for use by their undergraduate students, we generally purchase it. If pricing is exorbitant, if too many requests in a single field have been received, or if it does not fit the current BC curriculum, we may need to discuss the purchase. We know that we are not subject experts. While we use Resources for College Libraries and other review sources to guide our purchases, we rely on faculty to ensure access to "essentials" for the courses that you teach.
  • We have excellent collections of current, scholarly ebooks.   With over 400,000 ebooks available, we have a wide range of titles. Yes, you will find a lot of older, public domain materials that were added in the early days. Like print collections, electronic books age out, and it becomes obvious when we purchased certain collections.  However, if you are looking for current and scholarly, we highly recommend that you explore these collections:

    JSTOR This link opens in a new window

    Through our membership in ACA, we have access to nearly all of the scholarly books available through JSTOR, in all liberal arts subject areas. This is an amazing collection, and each book is available to unlimited simultaneous users. These are excellent resources to use as texts in your classes. (Need help putting them in Sakai? Contact James)

    EBook Central This link opens in a new window

    We have subscribed to a number of scholarly collections available from EBook Central. If you do an advanced search, you can limit to titles to which we provide access and those with unlimited print, copy, and download privileges, in case you want to use them with a class. This platform includes the ACLS Humanities Ebook Project.
     
    We have a number of other e-book collections that also contain scholarly materials. You can search for all of these items through our main search box on the library homepage--library.brevard.edu.
     

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...